Timeshift: How To Win At Chess

Discuss anything you like about chess related matters in this forum.
benedgell

Timeshift: How To Win At Chess

Post by benedgell » Thu Oct 01, 2009 4:09 pm

As you may or may not be aware, George Chan has made a programme on chess entitled 'Timeshift: How To Win At Chess'. This is George's description of the show:

"The programme is aimed at people who know the rules of chess (not absolute beginners), but haven't really played much and could benefit from simple advice and tips. These are provided by:

Ray Keene, Dan King, Harriet Hunt, David Howell, while other chess info / stories / anecdotes are provided by: Sheila Dines, Dominic Lawson, Martin Amis, Victor Matthias, various speed chess players, Tim Woolgar and Stephen Moss."

It isn't definitive yet, but it's scheduled to be shown on BBC4 on December 2nd, at 9.00pm. I'll post again when it's either confirmed for this date, or if the schedule changes.

Gavin Strachan

Re: Timeshift: How To Win At Chess

Post by Gavin Strachan » Thu Oct 01, 2009 4:30 pm

Last time Ray Keene played chess pawns could only move one square forward! I find it fascinating that he is so associated with chess yet does not play anymore and does not even have an ECF grade. His FIDE grade of 2455 is potentially out of date me thinks, and no doubt I could beat him. He's always on TV when it comes to chess so it would be nice getting someone currently active on TV and young to appeal to the youth who is strong (Simon Williams, Matthew Turner come to mind!)

Anyhow, great to see chess looking like it is going to get some form of coverage on the box. last time I saw it was watching Piers Brosnon in the remake of the Thomas Crown Affair.

Jonathan Bryant

Post by Jonathan Bryant » Thu Oct 01, 2009 5:21 pm

Gavin Strachan wrote:... and no doubt I could beat him ....
I think not Gavin - although I imagine you're right about his FIDE rating likely to be a bit optimistic were he to come out of retirement.