Vade mecum for complete beginner -- suggestions

Discuss anything you like about chess related matters in this forum.
Patrick Gray

Vade mecum for complete beginner -- suggestions

Post by Patrick Gray » Thu Jun 02, 2016 1:59 pm

I have taught myself both descriptive and algebraic notation. An old and therefore cheap book preferred -- Staunton is the author I know of, but other recommendations eagerly sought. As comprehensive as possible, bearing in mind I live in a very remote area and when I play an actual opponent it will have to be by correspondence, so capable for study by a lone player.

Matt Mackenzie

Re: Vade mecum for complete beginner -- suggestions

Post by Matt Mackenzie » Thu Jun 02, 2016 2:07 pm

There have been quite a few decent "beginners guides to chess" published down the years - those by D B Pritchard and Golombek come to mind.
"Set up your attacks so that when the fire is out, it isn't out!" (H N Pillsbury)

Adam Raoof

Post by Adam Raoof » Thu Jun 02, 2016 3:10 pm

get Hartston's Teach Yourself Chess - https://www.amazon.co.uk/Teach-Yourself ... 0340670398 - but Matt is right, there are a lot of good beginners books.
Adam Raoof IA, IO
Chess England Events - https://chessengland.com/
The Chess Circuit - https://chesscircuit.substack.com/
Don’t stop playing chess!

JustinHorton

Post by JustinHorton » Thu Jun 02, 2016 3:16 pm

What there's a lot less of is books for people who've got just past that stage.
"Do you play chess?"
"Yes, but I prefer a game with a better chance of cheating."

lostontime.blogspot.com

Matt Mackenzie

Post by Matt Mackenzie » Thu Jun 02, 2016 4:04 pm

Actually, that is one thing that Hartston's couple of books - Teach Yourself Chess/Better Chess - are good for IMO.
"Set up your attacks so that when the fire is out, it isn't out!" (H N Pillsbury)

John Townsend

Post by John Townsend » Thu Jun 02, 2016 6:33 pm