Adriaan De Groot in 1939

Historical knowledge and information regarding our great game.
MaggieJackson

Adriaan De Groot in 1939

Post by MaggieJackson » Wed Jan 15, 2014 3:15 am

Hello - I am a US author and journalist, writing a book on reflective thought, and researching some of Adriaan De Groot's early research into chess and judgment. Does anyone know where I could get information on the voyage of the steamship Piriapolis to Argentina in 1939 for the Olympiad - De Groot did onboard experiments using the European chess champions who were his fellow passengers - I would like to get detail on the length of the voyage, what he did on board etc.
Secondly, many of the chess champions on that trip stayed in South America to flee the Nazis. Does anyone have information on what happened - was there a kindly Argentine official? Or is there a story to their 'escape.' Did De Groot help in any way?
Thank you! Maggie Jackson, New York City, maggie-jackson.com

Gordon Cadden

Re: Adriaan De Groot in 1939

Post by Gordon Cadden » Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:12 am

This is a very interesting line of research. The England team was on board the Piriapolis, with the exception of Sir George Thomas, who found his own route to Buenos Aires. They did not take part in the Finals of the Olympiad. Baruch Wood was on board the Piriapolis; will check the CHESS magazines for the period. Also on board were the Polish and German teams, and this at a time when Germany was invading Poland, and Great Britain had declared war on Germany. One can only imagine the tension on board the Piriapolis.
Germany won the Olympiad with 36 points, with Poland on 35.5 points, in second place.