David Sedgwick wrote: Ian Thompson wrote:
Alex Holowczak wrote: 12.4 The scoresheet shall be used only for recording the moves, the times of the clocks, the offers of a draw, and matters relating to a claim and other relevant data.
Marking the first, second etc. occurrence of a repeated position on the scoresheet would come under the "matters relating to a claim" part of 12.4.
But it's not a claim. The first and second time the position occurs the mark is an aide mÃ©moire to a possible future claim, which may never happen. Indeed, it may never happen quite deliberately because the player has made the note on his scoresheet to remind himself not to accidentally allow a draw by repetition in a position he's trying to win.
You raise an interesting point in your last sentence. The same argument would apply to the superior side and the fifty move rule. However, indicating that on the scoresheet is virtually standard and indeed was done in the game under discussion. I have to admit that it had never occurred to me to question the practice.
But equally, you could make that argument with recording the moves. Recording the moves down has the potential to be a matter related to just about any claim you can think of, however it acts as an aide memoire to the player so that he knows how many moves he's made. The fact that no claim may end up being made based upon those moves doesn't matter, in my opinion.
I think that 12.4 basically gives players the freedom to make any marks on the scoresheet that they like that may help them make a claim, or even avoid a claim.
One habit that some players have, that I'm not convinced is covered by 12.4, is the tendency to tick moves off in the run up to a time control. It's an aide memoire, but a tick on a scoresheet can't be used in any claim. So are players entitled to do this?