Paolo Casaschi wrote: His opponent starts Black clock without making his move. He claimed that based on FIDE rules, when the Black player is late, White could delay making his first move on the board until the opponent actually arrives, while still being allowed to start Black's clock.
Before the start of the game the arbiter decides where the chess clock is placed.
At the time determined for the start of the game the clock of the player who has the white pieces is started.
a.Any player who arrives at the chessboard after the start of the session shall lose the game. Thus the default time is 0 minutes. The rules of a competition may specify otherwise.
b.If the rules of a competition specify a different default time, the following shall apply. If neither player is present initially, the player who has the white pieces shall lose all the time that elapses until he arrives, unless the rules of the competition specify or the arbiter decides otherwise.
If, at the agreed resumption time:
a. the player having to reply to the sealed move is present, the envelope is opened, the sealed move made on the chessboard and his clock started.
b.the player having to reply to the sealed move is not present, his clock shall be started. On his arrival, he may stop his clock and summon the arbiter. The envelope is then opened and the sealed move made on the chessboard. His clock is then restarted.
c.the player who sealed the move is not present, his opponent has the right to record his reply on the scoresheet, seal his scoresheet in a fresh envelope, stop his clock and start the absent playerâ€™s clock instead of making his reply in the normal manner. If so, the envelope shall be handed to the arbiter for safe-keeping and opened on the absent playerâ€™s arrival.
Under current vanilla FIDE rules, unadulterated by the ECF or local rules neither situation exists. If White is there and Black is absent at the start time Black loses. The game does not take place; white does not need to move or start a clock, its defaulted, it ceases to be, it's non existent and the result is nailed to the score sheet. So its unlikely that there is anything anywhere in the FIDE rules except in error. Where the ECF or event organisers vary this rule, as they may, they should specify how late arrival is dealt with; but do they ?Ian Stephens wrote: My understanding is White can only start Blacks clock once White has played a move on the board, not in their head or sealed or otherwise.
E Michael White wrote:Going back in history there was a rule operated along these lines. If black arrived late White could play any move and change it when Black arrived. This was used to allow White to vary the move, when the player arrived or against a substitute. If my memory is correct, this rule was used in the early 4NCL days to avoid giving away preparation.
E Michael White wrote:Under current vanilla FIDE rules, unadulterated by the ECF or local rules neither situation exists. If White is there and Black is absent at the start time Black loses. The game does not take place; white does not need to move or start a clock, its defaulted, it ceases to be, it's non existent and the result is nailed to the score sheet. So its unlikely that there is anything anywhere in the FIDE rules except in error.
Roger de Coverly wrote: On a slightly different tack, it would be my impression that a player should be allowed to take back their first move and substitute an alternative if a reserve replaces the original player in a team match. There again that's probably just convention or local rules.
Giulio Simeone wrote:But it isn't mandatory to write down the players' names on the match scoresheet before the games start? In Italy I have always seen the captains doing this, maybe in England the procedure is different.
Irrespective of the specific rules, I have always found it slightly strange that white is required to play his first move without first knowing who his opponent is, and by that I mean have sight of them. If my opponent arrives, say, 45 minutes late I might well prefer to play a different first move than if they have all of their time, and in the case of someone I do not know I might prefer to attempt to guess their style before committing (eg play something positional against a junior who might be expected to play sharp lines).
Christopher Kreuzer wrote:Why not just play 1.Ra3 and start Black's clock? If your opponent hasn't arrived, they can't object. Can the arbiter or the opposing captain insist that you play a legal move before starting Black's clock, and would an objection from Black (when they arrive) lead to the clock times being reversed? I think I heard of that happening once when someone started Black's clock without making a White move.
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests