Mark Howitt's Chess Coaching

Use this section to advertise yourself or your products.
Mark Howitt

Mark Howitt's Chess Coaching

Post by Mark Howitt » Sun Jul 16, 2023 2:59 pm

Why I Believe I'm a Good Chess Coach and Why it's worth Paying me with Minimum Wage to Coach You... if you can afford it...

Hi...

So as well as doing financial coaching I now do some chess coaching...

If you're like a GOOD chess player... I am not good enough to coach you, let's state that right away don't want to waste your time...

However if you are just starting and haven't played many/any competitive games yet... I think I'm worth it... here's why...

So when I was 7 my parents took me out of the state eduction system and put me into QEGS, that stands for Queen Elizabeth Grammar school.

I already knew how to play chess then, my dad taught me when I was 4. We would play in a caravan in the south of France... I didn't play much before QEGS but I knew how the pieces moved.

I think the fees at QEGS junior school now are around £11,000 per year in the junior school...

Anyway so when I was 7 I would play at the school chess club a LOT. I didn't have any real proper training but I played a lot. I got in the school teams sometimes, but I wasn't really given a chance.

They did have good players like David Jackson and Gareth Mitchell so it was quite hard to get in the team.

Anyway I didn't go to QEGS senior school, I went to Batley Grammar School, back when it was private. I think my parents paid about £4,500 a year back then... this would have been in 1995 so inflation etc. I know it has gone back into the state sector now, and I don't recommend this school, but back then it had a good chess team. They had gotten into the Semi finals of the national schools championship I think. They had players like Andrew Tennant and Andrew Wager.