23rd Abu Dhabi Int. Chess Festival Masters Tournament

The very latest International round up of English news.
LawrenceCooper

23rd Abu Dhabi Int. Chess Festival Masters Tournament

Post by LawrenceCooper » Sun Aug 21, 2016 12:28 pm

Masters: http://chess-results.com/tnr224908.aspx ... =30&wi=984 includes David Eggleston, Alistair Hill, Ian Thompson & Paul Dargan.

Mike W. Richardt

Re: 23rd Abu Dhabi Int. Chess Festival Masters Tournament

Post by Mike W. Richardt » Sun Aug 21, 2016 2:18 pm

I try to go there this week and post some pictures on my blog.
Looks like a good tournament!!!!
Nullius addictus iurare in verba magistri - I am not bound to believe in the word of any master
http://www.mikerichardt.co.uk

MJMcCready

Post by MJMcCready » Sun Aug 21, 2016 5:22 pm

David Eggleston has lost in rather bizarre fashion. I'm no expert but I would suggest that black's second move can't be his best but it seems to have worked as white came out of the opening slightly worse.

https://chess24.com/en/watch/live-tourn ... 2016/1/1/4

Roger de Coverly

Post by Roger de Coverly » Sun Aug 21, 2016 7:25 pm

MJMcCready wrote: I'm no expert but I would suggest that black's second move can't be his best but it seems to have worked as white came out of the opening slightly worse.
It's a known slightly suspect idea, sometimes given the name "Brooklyn Variation".

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alekhine% ... to_2...Nd5

According to chess24's engine, Qb5+ was incorrect and he should have played Nc3 first.

NickFaulks

Post by NickFaulks » Sun Aug 21, 2016 8:50 pm

Roger de Coverly wrote: According to chess24's engine, Qb5+ was incorrect and he should have played Nc3 first.
You can't help feeling that White missed the ...0-0-0 idea when he launched Qb5+. Must have come as a nasty shock if so.
If you want a picture of the future, imagine a QR code stamped on a human face — forever.

Roger de Coverly

Post by Roger de Coverly » Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:07 pm