What do people here do?

A section to discuss matters not related to Chess in particular.
Nicky Chorley

What do people here do?

Post by Nicky Chorley » Sat Apr 16, 2011 6:57 am

I mean, in terms of their occupation. I've seen that there are several web/software developers here, but I'm curious as to what else the regulars here do. Are a lot of people involved with chess as part of their job? I did a search and couldn't find a similar thread.

I'm finishing up a PhD right now and am finding it ridiculously difficult to get a job for afterwards :/.

Thanks!

Gareth Harley-Yeo

Re: What do people here do?

Post by Gareth Harley-Yeo » Sat Apr 16, 2011 9:52 am

I'm a Tax Man... HMRC.

Neill Cooper

Post by Neill Cooper » Sat Apr 16, 2011 9:57 am

Nicky Chorley wrote:Are a lot of people involved with chess as part of their job?
I'm a secondary school maths teacher and also run school chess club and teams.

Sean Hewitt

Post by Sean Hewitt » Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:04 am

I used to have a career. Now I'm a civil servant.

John Upham

Post by John Upham » Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:06 am

Nicky Chorley wrote:
I'm finishing up a PhD right now and am finding it ridiculously difficult to get a job for afterwards :/.

Thanks!
Become a Post Doc and then a lecturer : this was the path I followed. What is the subject of your thesis?
British Chess News : britishchessnews.com
Twitter: @BritishChess
Facebook: facebook.com/groups/britishchess :D

Carl Hibbard

Post by Carl Hibbard » Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:39 am

IT (everything...) going on for "cough" some 30 years now :(
Cheers
Carl Hibbard

Nicky Chorley

Post by Nicky Chorley » Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:02 pm

Gareth Harley-Yeo wrote:I'm a Tax Man... HMRC.
What does that actually involve? Do people give you a lot of stick for it?
John Upham wrote: Become a Post Doc and then a lecturer : this was the path I followed. What is the subject of your thesis?