Kick-starting chess

National developments, strategies and ideas.
Mike Davies

Kick-starting chess

Post by Mike Davies » Thu May 21, 2009 9:44 pm

OK, I'm a maths teacher in Swindon, who plays adequate chess though never graded in any way. What I have done so far:
- got involved in the existing chess club at school, started to teach them a few opening moves and how to win the endgames (King and rook etc)
- found contacts of other chess clubs, and started to arrange fixtures
- had one fixture, which we won!
- borrowed chess clocks off a local club, and started to build contacts
- gone along to a local club, to improve my own play and enthusiasm and pick their brains

What next? I've read some good stuff about the UK chess challenge, but have missed it for this year. What is the best website (apart from those in signatures, obviously) for kids wanting to learn more? What's the best book to get for the school library to point the kids towards? Anything else?

Advice welcome,

Mike

adam_hunt

Re: Kick-starting chess

Post by adam_hunt » Fri May 22, 2009 10:34 am

Mike,

What age are the children?

Starting a chess ladder or introducing a rating system is a good way of motivating them to come to the club sessions. (Rating system better but requires more work!)

Mike Davies

Post by Mike Davies » Fri May 22, 2009 12:42 pm

Mostly year 7. Good idea aobut the ladder, thanks. Only problem is there would be a fixture at the top, and everyone else battling for second. Works for the premier league though :D

William Metcalfe

Post by William Metcalfe » Sat May 23, 2009 8:48 pm

chesskids is a really good web site with lots of puzzles and ideas for kids
I am speaking here for myself and not the NCCU which i am now president of

Richard James

Post by Richard James » Sat May 23, 2009 10:41 pm

William Metcalfe wrote:chesskids is a really good web site with lots of puzzles and ideas for kids
Many thanks for the plug, William. You beat me to it.