Search found 119 matches

by Robert Stokes
Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:16 pm
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Under promotion to a bishop.
Replies: 19
Views: 1497

Re: Under promotion to a bishop.

Yes, I missed that.

Can anyone adapt my position or devise their own where there is no better move than promotion to a bishop?
by Robert Stokes
Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:09 pm
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Under promotion to a bishop.
Replies: 19
Views: 1497

Under promotion to a bishop.

We all know that when a pawn reaches the eighth rank it is normally promoted to a queen. There are rare cases where this would produce stalemate so a rook is preferred. There are even rare cases where promotion to a knight is preferred if it can produce an immediate mate in a situation where no othe...
by Robert Stokes
Mon Aug 06, 2018 7:56 pm
Forum: Chess Questions
Topic: Unexpected move in the QGD.
Replies: 70
Views: 4876

Re: Unexpected move in the QGD.

Thank you for your comments.

Robert
by Robert Stokes
Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:48 pm
Forum: Chess Questions
Topic: Unexpected move in the QGD.
Replies: 70
Views: 4876

Unexpected move in the QGD.

I played in the lowest section of the weekend competition at the British Chess Championships in Hull. One game playing as white started 1 d4 d5 2 c4 e6 3 Nc3 Nf6 4 cxd exd 5 Bg5 Be7 6 e3. As far as I'm aware this is standard play in the queen's gambit declined. My opponent (who happened to be a woma...
by Robert Stokes
Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:01 pm
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Unfortunate start and end to county match
Replies: 48
Views: 4454

Re: Unfortunate start and end to county match

I think that it would have taken a long time to get proper boards. My guess is at least an hour.
by Robert Stokes
Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:45 pm
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Unfortunate start and end to county match
Replies: 48
Views: 4454

Re: Unfortunate start and end to county match

I posted this before seeing that the second 'and' in the title should be end. I can't find a way to change it.
by Robert Stokes
Thu Mar 29, 2018 12:42 pm
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Unfortunate start and end to county match
Replies: 48
Views: 4454

Unfortunate start and end to county match

Last Saturday I was due to play in an U120 match for the home county A against visitors county B. I will leave them unnamed as the matter has not yet been resolved. The match was to take place in business premises which have no chess connection so all equipment must be taken there. I arrived at 12.3...
by Robert Stokes
Thu Mar 22, 2018 4:08 pm
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Dutch defence
Replies: 35
Views: 3669

Re: Dutch defence

Thank you for the replies. There is certainly enough there for me to think about.

Robert
by Robert Stokes
Thu Mar 22, 2018 10:53 am
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Dutch defence
Replies: 35
Views: 3669

Dutch defence

I play in the minor section of weekend congresses which are usually up to ECF 120. Playing black and facing 1 d4, I am thinking about replying with 1 ... f5 as I suspect that this would surprise most opponents and they may not know how to proceed. However, I am wary of doing this, as there must be a...
by Robert Stokes
Thu Dec 21, 2017 9:38 pm
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Surprise discovery in laws of chess
Replies: 14
Views: 1548

Re: Surprise discovery in laws of chess

I see. I meant something like:- white moves, black moves, white moves and presses clock forgetting that he didn't do it on the previous move. Perhaps I'm trying to imagine trouble where none exists. I'm still surprised by the rule.
by Robert Stokes
Thu Dec 21, 2017 8:50 pm
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Surprise discovery in laws of chess
Replies: 14
Views: 1548

Re: Surprise discovery in laws of chess

Thank you for your explanation although I can't really see that it justifies the rule. A finger on the button, or even near it, would break the rule about using only one hand to move and operate the clock. Perhaps that rule wasn't in force in the era you mentioned. I think this rule could allow conf...
by Robert Stokes
Thu Dec 21, 2017 7:09 pm
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Surprise discovery in laws of chess
Replies: 14
Views: 1548

Surprise discovery in laws of chess

I followed a link that someone had helpfully supplied in another of my threads to the laws of chess and arbitrator's notes on them. There it clearly said that the order "move, move, press clock, press clock" was allowed within the laws of the game. I was really surprised at this. I expected it to sa...
by Robert Stokes
Fri Dec 15, 2017 3:30 pm
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Should this move attract a penalty?
Replies: 20
Views: 2373

Re: Should this move attract a penalty?

Thank you again.

I suppose that I should have checked the manual but these are locked away with the clocks in the club except when being used.

Your last sentence will interest dome members of the club who preferred the old digital clocks.

Robert
by Robert Stokes
Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:57 pm
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Should this move attract a penalty?
Replies: 20
Views: 2373

Re: Should this move attract a penalty?

Thank you. This raises the question of how to add two minutes penalty on a digital clock (DGT2010).

Robert
by Robert Stokes
Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:30 am
Forum: General Chat
Topic: Does the DGT2010 have a design fault?
Replies: 16
Views: 1403

Does the DGT2010 have a design fault?

Last night, in a local league match our board 1 player lost on time because of unfamiliarity with our digital clocks. He thought he had 15 minutes to be added when his clock ran out but he'd used up all 90 minutes. (He recently re-joined the club after a few years away.) I believe this happened beca...