Harassment and Toxic Behavior on Chess.com

Discuss anything you like about chess related matters in this forum.
Chris Rice

Harassment and Toxic Behavior on Chess.com

Post by Chris Rice » Sun Mar 03, 2019 3:53 pm

A Norwegian journalist, Julie Egeland has written an article for Morgenbladet alleging she has been sexually harassed at Chess.com and demonstrating why female chess players may be put off from playing online.

As the article is in Norwegian, below is a Google translation so apologies for the translation and grammar errors but hopefully its readable, followed by a link to the response from the Chess.com CEO where the CEO apologises to the journalist and clearly asserts that he wants to stamp out this disgusting behaviour.

"When I decided in the New Year to join the world's largest chess community - chess.com - I expected to be humiliated. I have not played chess since I challenged the school's caretaker to a lightning game in a small room and I have no greater knowledge than I know where the various pieces can go.

What I did not expect, however, was that nerds from around the world should ask if I get wet by losing my queen or being called a whore when I sacrifice a rook to win a knight. It is, of course, off the board I should be humiliated, not on it.

At Chess.com one can play games against not only friends but random people from all corners of the world. Like many others, I play via the chess.com app on the phone. When you want to start a game, the chess app selects an appropriate opponent based on the level you are on. Playing against random players is a good strategy to become a better player and get a better rating. (Not to mention that it's fun when you have about two other friends playing chess.) While the party is in progress, you have the opportunity to chat with your opponent, for example, to arrange possible draw, or send one of chess.com's automated messages, like "good game".