Britbase Question

Discuss anything you like about chess related matters in this forum.
John Upham
Posts: 4321
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:29 am
Location: Cove, Hampshire, England.
Contact:

Britbase Question

Post by John Upham » Mon Aug 05, 2019 11:41 am

This might just be me but...

Looking at something like https://www.saund.co.uk/britbase/pgn/19 ... iewer.html

I see that the pieces are not displayed on the diagram. Tried various browsers (apart from Lynx)

Anyone else experiencing this ?
British Chess News : britishchessnews.com
Twitter: @BritishChess
Facebook: facebook.com/groups/britishchess :D

Geoff Chandler
Posts: 1997
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Under Cover
Contact:

Re: Britbase Question

Post by Geoff Chandler » Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:01 pm

Hi John,

I get this

Image

as well on chrome.

User avatar
John Saunders
Posts: 1227
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:10 pm
Location: Kingston-upon-Thames
Contact:

Re: Britbase Question

Post by John Saunders » Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:40 pm

Yes, sorry chaps, it's very annoying and there's only so much I can do about it as it is the fault of Google's new security regime. A while back someone noticed that, when they arrived at BritBase, they were getting what Geoff shows above. And then I noticed that, in some cases, arriving via Google, it was possible to see those alarming (and alarmist) Google messages about the website not being safe (which is rubbish).

So I decided to invest a small amount of money in getting some security certificates. I believe Mark Crowther also had some problems with this with TWIC a while back and he described it as a scam. I'm inclined to agree with him. Getting the security certificate has proved to be more trouble than it's worth. I don't have the time, inclination or cash to implement full security across all the many pages of BritBase, and my limited IT skills are getting ever more antique, so I'm considering reverting to non-secure pages and let the tax-dodging behemoths of Google go and &%$& themselves.

In the meantime, there is a work-round. If you see one of the images above, go to the URL line, edit out the letter 's' from the https bit at the beginning, press send to refresh the screen and you should be able to see the diagram and any images on the page.

Thanks to John and Geoff for the feedback - I was meaning to explain the problem at some point and you have prompted me to do so now. If anyone has any bright ideas that might solve the problem easily, by all means air them here or email me directly.
Personal Twitter @johnchess / Personal Website http://www.saund.co.uk / Britbase http://www.britbase.co.uk

John Upham
Posts: 4321
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:29 am
Location: Cove, Hampshire, England.
Contact:

Re: Britbase Question

Post by John Upham » Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:46 pm

John,

My ISP (Zen Internet) provided a free SSL certificate for each and every web site I manage. It happened automatically.

I've been with Zen for at least fifteen years and been very happy with their service.

SSL implemented correctly enables an http server to upgrade to an https server.
British Chess News : britishchessnews.com
Twitter: @BritishChess
Facebook: facebook.com/groups/britishchess :D

User avatar
Carl Hibbard
Posts: 5727
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Evesham

Re: Britbase Question

Post by Carl Hibbard » Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:56 pm

Looks like a resource location issue to me and nothing to do with SSL but I am looking now.
Cheers
Carl Hibbard

User avatar
Carl Hibbard
Posts: 5727
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Evesham

Re: Britbase Question

Post by Carl Hibbard » Mon Aug 05, 2019 1:15 pm

Carl Hibbard wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:56 pm
Looks like a resource location issue to me and nothing to do with SSL but I am looking now.
Yes confirmed it is you John somewhere although I can't put my finger on it right now it isn't the SSL that is for sure.
Cheers
Carl Hibbard

John Upham
Posts: 4321
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:29 am
Location: Cove, Hampshire, England.
Contact:

Re: Britbase Question

Post by John Upham » Mon Aug 05, 2019 1:17 pm

Carl Hibbard wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 1:15 pm
Carl Hibbard wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:56 pm
Looks like a resource location issue to me and nothing to do with SSL but I am looking now.
Yes confirmed it is you John somewhere although I can't put my finger on it right now it isn't the SSL that is for sure.
I didn't write that the display problem was an SSL issue.

I was attempting to help JS deal with the problem that he mentioned.
British Chess News : britishchessnews.com
Twitter: @BritishChess
Facebook: facebook.com/groups/britishchess :D

User avatar
Carl Hibbard
Posts: 5727
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Evesham

Re: Britbase Question

Post by Carl Hibbard » Mon Aug 05, 2019 1:19 pm

John Upham wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 1:17 pm
Carl Hibbard wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 1:15 pm
Carl Hibbard wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 12:56 pm
Looks like a resource location issue to me and nothing to do with SSL but I am looking now.
Yes confirmed it is you John somewhere although I can't put my finger on it right now it isn't the SSL that is for sure.
I didn't write that the display problem was an SSL issue.

I was attempting to help JS deal with the problem that he mentioned.
Sorry I meant John Saunders.
Cheers
Carl Hibbard

User avatar
Carl Hibbard
Posts: 5727
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Evesham

Re: Britbase Question

Post by Carl Hibbard » Mon Aug 05, 2019 1:26 pm

Hmm the images are ok so this is valid:

https://www.saund.co.uk/britbase/img/1973_champions.jpg

It might be getting lost in the iframe or is just not referring to itself properly?
Cheers
Carl Hibbard

Mike Gunn
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:45 pm

Re: Britbase Question

Post by Mike Gunn » Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:02 pm

Hmmm, that link gives me:

Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /britbase/img/1973_champions.jpg on this server.
Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

User avatar
Carl Hibbard
Posts: 5727
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Evesham

Re: Britbase Question

Post by Carl Hibbard » Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:07 pm

Mike Gunn wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 4:02 pm
Hmmm, that link gives me:

Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /britbase/img/1973_champions.jpg on this server.
Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.
Yes it was working earlier so perhaps JS is attempting to fix it still.

I am about again tomorrow and will take a second look.
Cheers
Carl Hibbard

User avatar
Paolo Casaschi
Posts: 1089
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 6:46 am

Re: Britbase Question

Post by Paolo Casaschi » Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:10 pm

Looks like a mis-configuration of the server:
- it should not be browser specific since I get the same issue with google chrome, internet explorer and microsoft edge to name the few at hand at the moment
- it should not be not related to the use of iframes since the iframe itself, loaded in the browser as a standalone page, it still shows the problem: https://www.saund.co.uk/pgn4web-3.03/co ... 308bcf.pgn
- it's not a trivial file permission issue either, because the missing images seem to load fine as a standalone file from the browser URL: https://www.saund.co.uk/pgn4web-3.03/im ... /36/wr.png

User avatar
Carl Hibbard
Posts: 5727
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Evesham

Re: Britbase Question

Post by Carl Hibbard » Mon Aug 05, 2019 6:20 pm

Paolo Casaschi wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:10 pm
Looks like a mis-configuration of the server.
It is a strange one whatever it is.
Cheers
Carl Hibbard

John Upham
Posts: 4321
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:29 am
Location: Cove, Hampshire, England.
Contact:

Re: Britbase Question

Post by John Upham » Mon Aug 05, 2019 6:25 pm

When attempting to fetch the same URI

I see a http 2xx type code for the http URL

whereas

for the https type URL I see a 403 status code.

This suggests to me, at least, an SSL implementation issue.
British Chess News : britishchessnews.com
Twitter: @BritishChess
Facebook: facebook.com/groups/britishchess :D

User avatar
Carl Hibbard
Posts: 5727
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Evesham

Re: Britbase Question

Post by Carl Hibbard » Mon Aug 05, 2019 6:27 pm

John Upham wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 6:25 pm
When attempting to fetch the same URI

I see a http 2xx type code for the http URL

whereas

for the https type URL I see a 403 status code.

This suggests to me, at least, an SSL implementation issue.
I agree as some images like the white rook load fine on SSL.

The only thing I can guess/think of is the SSL certificate is not installed on all the machines in the "cluster" something like that as the http is fine.

So then John Saunders you would need to call support for your server.
Cheers
Carl Hibbard

Post Reply