Alex Holowczak wrote:That's a bit dopey. I discovered my phone was still on once during a game. So I went to the toilet, switched it off, and returned to my seat. If it did make a noise, there would be no one there to hear it.
I'm presuming that you had not obtained permission from the arbiter to have your phone switched on. Having discovered you were in breach of the first sentence of 12.3.b, I presume you informed him. Having obtained his (retrospective) permission, I'm surprised that you didn't ask his permission to leave the playing venue to switch the phone off. My phone makes a noise when I switch it off, and even if this was in the toilet and no-one but me heard, there is surely no alternative under the second sentence of 12.3.b but to concede the game. It's no different to touching a piece while your opponent is away from the board, realising your intended move is a blunder, and moving something else.
Or maybe you think 12.3.b is an unnecessary rule, given that making use of information or advice, and distracting and annoying your opponent, are against other rules. So you only pay lip service to it, like me and everyone else.