I've long thought that completely nuts. The long standing British and I assume international convention is that you move to another board and reconstruct the game. I think I've only needed to do this once and that was around forty years ago, when my sheet said 40 and my opponent's 38 and that's dispute resolution. I don't think the convention that the player with the completed sheet lends it to the player with the incomplete sheet causes any difficulty, particularly if they fill it in using their own time.Ian Thompson wrote: What the USCF rules also say is that a player is allowed to claim his own flag has fallen to prevent his opponent completing their scoresheet and claiming the win on time.
Perhaps it's not playing in competitions where there's adjournment or adjudication, but I find it quite rare to see players get so short of time that they cannot keep score or at least know the move count in the run up to an intermediate time control.