Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Discuss anything you like about chess related matters in this forum.
Geoff Chandler
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Under Cover
Contact:

Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by Geoff Chandler » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:27 pm

From Round 9 of the 2018 Olympiad.

Daniel Cabral (Bermuda) - Djibril Diallo (Diallo)

Here. White to play.



White played 14.0-0 which was recorded as being played and both players
appear to have been unaware this was illegal. After 14.0-0 the score goes bad.

Let us suppose that Black had noticed this was illegal, called across an arbiter
and claimed that that White should undo 14.0-0 and make a move with his King.

Could White have then simply played 14.0-0-0 or would he have to play 14.Kd1 or 14.Kd2.

Ian Thompson
Posts: 1912
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 4:31 pm
Location: Awbridge, Hampshire

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by Ian Thompson » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:52 pm

Geoff Chandler wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:27 pm
Could White have then simply played 14.0-0-0
Yes

Geoff Chandler
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Under Cover
Contact:

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by Geoff Chandler » Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:56 pm

Trying to correct Djibril Diallo (Mali)

Just recreating new posts. I'm blaiming 14 0-0.

Thank you Ian.
Last edited by Geoff Chandler on Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JustinHorton
Posts: 5595
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:06 am
Location: Somewhere you're not

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by JustinHorton » Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:16 pm

My recommendation would be to employ the edit function rather than the quote function
"Do you play chess?"
"Yes, but I prefer a game with a better chance of cheating."

lostontime.blogspot.com

User avatar
Michael Farthing
Posts: 1688
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 1:28 pm
Location: Morecambe, Europe

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by Michael Farthing » Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:23 pm

*Geoff Chandler I think meant to wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:27 pm
From Round 9 of the 2018 Olympiad.

Daniel Cabral (Bermuda) - Djibril Diallo (Mali)

Here. White to play.



White played 14.0-0 which was recorded as being played and both players
appear to have been unaware this was illegal. After 14.0-0 the score goes bad.

Let us suppose that Black had noticed this was illegal, called across an arbiter
and claimed that that White should undo 14.0-0 and make a move with his King.

Could White have then simply played 14.0-0-0 or would he have to play 14.Kd1 or 14.Kd2.
*Please excuse the grammar here: the software is just not up to the intricacies of tenses
[Justin is quite correct to say editing is better than quoting, but I can only do the former as I can't edit someone else's post (quite rightly)].

Paul Cooksey
Posts: 295
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 4:15 pm

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by Paul Cooksey » Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:33 pm

4.4 If a player having the move:
c. intending to castle, touches the king or king and rook at the same time, but castling
on that side is illegal, the player must make another legal move with his king (which
may include castling on the other side). If the king has no legal move, the player is
free to make any legal move

Which is what I would have guessed, I was expecting some sort of anomaly.

User avatar
Carl Hibbard
Posts: 5627
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 8:05 pm
Location: Evesham

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by Carl Hibbard » Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:03 pm

Geoff Chandler wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:56 pm
Trying to correct Djibril Diallo (Mali)

Just recreating new posts. I'm blaiming 14 0-0.

Thank you Ian.
Geoff edit's are now complete :D
Cheers
Carl Hibbard

Tim Harding
Posts: 1637
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 8:46 pm
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by Tim Harding » Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:14 pm

Geoff Chandler wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 8:27 pm
From Round 9 of the 2018 Olympiad.

Daniel Cabral (Bermuda) - Djibril Diallo (Diallo)

Here. White to play.



White played 14.0-0 which was recorded as being played and both players
appear to have been unaware this was illegal. After 14.0-0 the score goes bad.

Let us suppose that Black had noticed this was illegal, called across an arbiter
and claimed that that White should undo 14.0-0 and make a move with his King.

Could White have then simply played 14.0-0-0 or would he have to play 14.Kd1 or 14.Kd2.
Yes Paul is right. If this had been detected (as it should have been) White's options were to castle queenside or play the K to d1 or d2.
I see the player concerned was the Bermuda reserve so he clearly had not recovered from the Bermuda party several days previously.

There is actually a comment to 7.2.1 in the laws that if a game is played on a digital board (as this was) "it can happen that the computer stops to record the moves. In such cases the operator may inform the arbiter that something went wrong and the arbiter has the duty to check what happened."

Presumably in this case, because there were so many live boards and this wasn't a very important match, the failure of the live board was not noticed by the operators or they failed to communicate with the arbiters. We did have a case in an Irish tournament in August, where a peculiar type of live board called Chess Spectator was being used, that somebody played ...Nc6-f7. The operators told us that something had gone wrong and we tried to rectify it. But the player who made this move was so confused that he resigned a move or two later.
Tim Harding
Historian and Kibitzer

Author of 'British Chess Literature to 1914', Joseph Henry Blackburne: A Chess Biography', and 'Eminent Victorian Chess Players'
http://www.chessmail.com

Roger de Coverly
Posts: 17314
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:51 pm

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by Roger de Coverly » Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:25 pm

Tim Harding wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 11:14 pm
Presumably in this case, because there were so many live boards and this wasn't a very important match, the failure of the live board was not noticed by the operators or they failed to communicate with the arbiters.
That would seem an unexplored issue, namely what the communication protocols are between the team monitoring the live transmissions and the arbiters on the floor responsible for the matches. It's not just illegal moves, there would be repetitions of position and move counts as well. In some cases the match arbiter just needs to know a claim is possible, in others the arbiter is expected to intervene to terminate the game.

Alan Atkinson
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 7:08 pm

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by Alan Atkinson » Tue Oct 09, 2018 11:28 am

Illegal move: piece touched: any legal move with that piece.
Castling is considered a King move, so...

Geoff Chandler
Posts: 1824
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Under Cover
Contact:

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by Geoff Chandler » Tue Oct 09, 2018 1:36 pm

Hello again and thanks everyone for replying and for Carl for fir fixing the Edit function.....

I was thinking it was OK to 0-0-0 but something nagged,

''The King has moved, albeit an illegal move...therefore you cannot castle.'

Sounded too good to be true.

I was attracted to this game because it had a nice double blunder revolving around two Queen winning ideas.

Here - Black to play.



Black saw that if he could play Ba4 then that wins the White Queen.

10...Nxd4 11.Nxd4 Ba4



Mission accomplished

Here White should have played 12 Qxa4+ Qxa4 13.Bb5+
which wins back the Queen and White remains a piece up.

White instead played 12. Bb5+ saving the Queen but giving back the piece

Here is game up to the point where White castled Kingside.


Stewart Reuben
Posts: 3747
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2007 11:04 pm
Location: writer

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by Stewart Reuben » Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:53 pm

This has become very interesting. I conducted an arbiters' course in Georgia. It concluded well before the end of the Olympiad. One of the students waa Daniel Cabral BER. He scored 89%. He was awarded the FIDE Master title.
Would I have passed him, had I known about his illegal move?

I think on electronic boards, a warning light and bells should go off to warn the operator - and thus the arbiter - that something has gone wrong.

Brian Towers
Posts: 1139
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2014 7:23 pm

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by Brian Towers » Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:07 pm

Stewart Reuben wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:53 pm
Would I have passed him, had I known about his illegal move?
I sincerely hope so!
Next thing we know you'll be suggesting that a famous International Arbiter and member of the Rules Commission should be stripped of his titles and position for having once agreed a zero move draw which must have brought the game of chess into disrepute :-)
Ah, but I was so much older then. I'm younger than that now.

David Sedgwick
Posts: 3113
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 5:56 pm
Location: Croydon

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by David Sedgwick » Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:33 am

Stewart Reuben wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:53 pm
I think on electronic boards, a warning light and bells should go off to warn the operator - and thus the arbiter - that something has gone wrong.
In most events the electronic boards are controlled from an area contiguous to the playing area. A bell going off is likely to disturb other games.

NickFaulks
Posts: 4462
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 1:28 pm

Re: Illegal Castling into Legal Castling.

Post by NickFaulks » Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:31 am

Stewart Reuben wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 6:53 pm
He was awarded the FIDE Master title.
I assume that is the FIDE Arbiter title. At what point will this be announced ( other than on this forum )?

Post Reply