What do you do for a living

Discuss anything you like about chess related matters in this forum.
John Moore

What do you do for a living

Post by John Moore » Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:47 pm

One thing my wife always asks - and I never know - is what does your opponent do or your teammates do. I have been a teammate of a guy for thirty years and I have no idea what he does for a living. Why would I but still strange.

To start you off, I work as a consultant for a logistics company. I can also tell you that Geoff Chandler works for the circus.

IM Jack Rudd

Re: What do you do for a living

Post by IM Jack Rudd » Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:50 pm

I am a full-time chess professional*.

*Actual quantity of earnings may vary.

John Moore

Post by John Moore » Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:52 pm

Thanks Jack. So do mine, but at least I get a company car

IM Jack Rudd

Post by IM Jack Rudd » Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:55 pm

John Moore wrote:Thanks Jack. So do mine, but at least I get a company car
That I do not have, and would not be allowed to make use of it even if I did. Still, I have a Disabled Person's Railcard, and will soon get a Bus Pass.

Alex Holowczak

Post by Alex Holowczak » Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:01 pm

I'm a student, which means I have far too much time on my hands to use chess forums and play chess online. Rather than earn a wage, I actually get £1000s of debt instead. Although, Student Loans seem to think it's a good idea to give me more than twice as much money as I need for the course, so with some shrewd investment, I can actually make a profit...

Dean Madden

Post by Dean Madden » Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:06 pm

Software developer, currently develop a web based patient record system for the NHS.

Keith Arkell

Post by Keith Arkell » Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:43 pm

I am a lion tamer

John Upham

Post by John Upham » Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:53 pm

Keith Arkell wrote:I am a lion tamer
Do you have a hat that lights up?

These lions, could you describe them please? :lol: