Yes and no. The separate rules are for Blitz not at that sort of level.Christopher Kreuzer wrote:I've never seen arbiters get involved in blitz chess anyway. Does that really happen? At Blitz World Championship level? Are there separate rules in the Arbiters' Handbook for this?
Technical questions regarding Openings, Middlegames, Endings etc.
- Posts: 9085
- Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 5:18 pm
- Location: Oldbury, Worcestershire
Well, not quite. In practice, I let the players get on with it in blitz and rapidplay. If I'm called upon to make a decision, I make a decision based on the rules, and hope I've got it right.Paul McKeown wrote:The idea that capturing a king automatically leads to a loss seems absurd to me and no justification will seem other than ex post facto sophistry. I seriously wish that the result was simply left up to the arbiter based on the exact facts of the case. You seem to be arguing that that is what you do anyway, in practice.
So if a guy says to me, "He captured a King, so I've won." then I'd agree with him and award him the win. Not much else I can do, really!