Page 8 of 8

Re: Etiquette of resigning

Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:50 pm
by IM Jack Rudd
Christopher Kreuzer wrote:I've never seen arbiters get involved in blitz chess anyway. Does that really happen? At Blitz World Championship level? Are there separate rules in the Arbiters' Handbook for this?
Yes and no. The separate rules are for Blitz not at that sort of level.

Re: Etiquette of resigning

Posted: Tue Jul 05, 2011 11:59 pm
by Alex Holowczak
Paul McKeown wrote:The idea that capturing a king automatically leads to a loss seems absurd to me and no justification will seem other than ex post facto sophistry. I seriously wish that the result was simply left up to the arbiter based on the exact facts of the case. You seem to be arguing that that is what you do anyway, in practice.
Well, not quite. In practice, I let the players get on with it in blitz and rapidplay. If I'm called upon to make a decision, I make a decision based on the rules, and hope I've got it right. :wink:

So if a guy says to me, "He captured a King, so I've won." then I'd agree with him and award him the win. Not much else I can do, really!

Re: Etiquette of resigning

Posted: Wed Jul 06, 2011 12:09 am
by Paul McKeown
Okay, Alex, wouldn't want to discredit you before the Guild of Arbiters, although "I see no ships" came to mind. :D