New Junior Director - Sabrina Chevannes or Phil Ehr?

National developments, strategies and ideas.
Krishna Shiatis

New Junior Director - Sabrina Chevannes or Phil Ehr?

Post by Krishna Shiatis » Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:27 pm

Adam Raoof wrote:Phil's statement is available;

Statement of Phil Ehr
Candidate for Director of Junior Chess and Education

It would be a great honour and privilege to serve as Director of Junior Chess and Education and I respectfully ask for your support. I am a parent of two juniors who are in their eleventh year of competitive chess. They benefit greatly from the experience, which my wife and I consider an essential component of their education. I am also a chess coach at our children’s former primary school, which recognises the value of our game to the extent that every pupil is taught how to play. Chess maintains a presence in every classroom, where teachers actually use it to develop academic focus and promote good behaviour.
Everyone from Year 1 to Year 6 participates in the UKCC. The after-school club produces excellent teams
and individual players. My background outside chess also prepares me for this role, having served in positions of responsibility in similarly diverse organisations, re-built a professional training program and
represented the interests of children. Specifics may be read at LinkedIn.

With respect and many thanks to Peter Purland and his predecessors, a thorough review of junior
chess is required to address the challenges outlined in the ECF’s Strategic Plan and to set the way forward.
As director, I would work to advance two simple goals: (1) recruit and retain more juniors; and (2)
strengthen our top performers.

My first priority would be to select an alternate director with a greatly expanded remit than the
current role. Ideally, he or she would be a titled player, professional educator or coach, assume the title of