UK CHESS CHALLENGE

National developments, strategies and ideas.
Mike Truran

UK CHESS CHALLENGE

Post by Mike Truran » Mon May 14, 2012 12:33 pm

......or more fully, "There are many ways to be unlucky through the UK Chess Challenge" (quote to me from one of the organisers).

I'm fairly new to the world of being a chess parent, so I thought I would share with the forum what happened at the recent Ascot Megafinal. It may be that my expectations about how the UK Chess Challenge is run have been unrealistic, so views from other parents would be appreciated.

1. On arrival, my son, and along with another member of his school, was put in with an older age group on the grounds that there were insufficient players in his section. To my mind, this led to the younger age group being seriously disadvantaged by being combined with an older age group, in particular given that there was no relaxation of the four points/Supremo qualification rule. Is this common practice in the UK Chess Challenge, and if so do people find it a reasonable way of operating?

2. My son, on being offered a draw in the last round, was told by a controller that he would qualify with a draw, accepted the draw and was then told that he had not qualified after all. I also understand that this same controller apparently said that he would not be allowing Article 10.2 claims because he didn't understand the rule. Is it common practice in the UK Chess Challenge to have controllers who do not have a full knowledge either of the rules of the competition or of the laws of chess?

I appreciate that the UK Chess Challenge is a huge event, and that with the best will in the world it can't always run perfectly. If my son's experience was unusual rather than the norm, it would set my mind at rest to know that that was the case.

David Shepherd

Re: UK CHESS CHALLENGE

Post by David Shepherd » Mon May 14, 2012 1:06 pm