Getting Fritz

Discuss anything you like about chess related matters in this forum.
Post Reply
Anthony Appleyard
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 9:18 am

Getting Fritz

Post by Anthony Appleyard » Fri Nov 29, 2013 1:56 pm

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fritz_%28chess%29

A while ago I bought a copy of Fritz 13, and I used it; then my computer (it runs on Windows 8 ) needed to be reformatted and reloaded, and I cannot find my Fritz 13 disk to reload my Fritz from, so I went to buy another Fritz 13.

http://www.chessbase-shop.com/en/categories/49

But that page says that the €49.90 Fritz 13 (English and French and Italian) are unavailable. What is happening? I have an ordinary PC computer with one CPU, so I cannot get any advantage from buying Deep Fritz. Has it got serious bugs? Or what? If it is merely out of stock, why can't I order it to download it? Must I wait (how long?) for ordinary Fritz 14 to come out?Or what?

What is the difference between Fritz for Fun and ordinary Fritz?
Last edited by Anthony Appleyard on Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Greg Breed
Posts: 714
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 8:30 am
Location: Harrow, Middx, UK
Contact:

Re: Getting Fritz

Post by Greg Breed » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:06 pm

Hi Anthony, I think al these questions would be better answered by Chessbase themselves.
Hatch End A Captain (Hillingdon League)
Harrow Captain (Middlesex League)

Andrew Bak
Posts: 833
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 11:48 am
Location: Bradford
Contact:

Re: Getting Fritz

Post by Andrew Bak » Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:59 pm

Anthony Appleyard wrote:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fritz_%28chess%29

A while ago I bought a copy of Fritz 13, and I used it; then my computer (it runs on Windows 8 ) needed to be reformatted and reloaded, and I cannot find my Fritz 13 disk to reload my Fritz from, so I went to buy another Fritz 13.

http://www.chessbase-shop.com/en/categories/49

But that page says that the €49.90 Fritz 13 (English and French and Italian) are unavailable. What is happening? I have an ordinary PC computer with one CPU, so I cannot get any advantage from buying Deep Fritz. Has it got serious bugs? Or what? If it is merely out of stock, why can't I order it to download it? Must I wait (how long?) for ordinary Fritz 14 to come out?Or what?

What is the difference between Fritz for Fun and ordinary Fritz?
I thought I saw that they were only releasing Deep Fritz from now on - most people must have dual-core processors now I suppose.

Geoff Chandler
Posts: 2005
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 1:36 pm
Location: Under Cover
Contact:

Re: Getting Fritz

Post by Geoff Chandler » Sun Dec 01, 2013 3:28 am

Hi Anthony,

"But that page says that the €49.90 Fritz 13 (English and French and Italian) are unavailable."

It never existed. Thay are always advertsing stuff that does not exist.
They then bring out an updated more expensive version.
(which infact was the original version but they make more money this way)

It was them who broke into your house and stole your original Fritz 13 disc.
(they then sold it back to you!)

If you go to their site they will insist to run their software you need to buy a special ChessBase computer.
These things cost £10,000 and are the same size as a small car.

Bruce Holland
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 2:44 pm
Location: Kenilworth, England
Contact:

Re: Getting Fritz

Post by Bruce Holland » Sun Dec 01, 2013 11:19 pm

Anthony, you could do worse than consider buying HIARCS, which is now available for both the Windows and MacIntosh platforms. I personally find it better than Fritz. I am way too tired and it is far too late for me to go into details. However, I shall in a future blog write a piece which compares the two.
Bruce Holland
_________________________________________
blog: < http://andreww.myzen.co.uk/Holland/ >
Warwickshire Open Championships 2014< enquiries@congress.warwickshirechess.org >

Angus French
Posts: 1603
Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 1:37 am
Contact:

Re: Getting Fritz

Post by Angus French » Mon Dec 02, 2013 10:31 am

... or you could download Arena, a GUI for chess engines, and Stockfish 4, a chess engine, both for free.
Arena is available from http://www.playwitharena.com/.
Stockfish 4 is available from http://stockfishchess.org/download/.

User avatar
Joey Stewart
Posts: 1083
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:35 pm
Location: All Of Them
Contact:

Re: Getting Fritz

Post by Joey Stewart » Mon Dec 02, 2013 3:20 pm

Or don't encourage this market at all and help boycott the continued production of super strong chess engines - they never did any good for the game!
Lose one queen and it is a disaster, Lose 1000 queens and it is just a statistic.

Anthony Appleyard
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 9:18 am

Re: Getting Fritz

Post by Anthony Appleyard » Mon Dec 02, 2013 3:59 pm

Way back when all computers were so big that they needed a room to fit in, I wrote a draughts playing program in machine code for the computer where I worked (an IBM or a CDC). In draughts, you must capture if you can, which cut down the amount of tree analysis.

User avatar
Mats Winther
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Jun 04, 2009 5:27 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Getting Fritz

Post by Mats Winther » Tue Dec 03, 2013 5:01 pm

Today it's cheap to buy a dual CPU computer, ideal for chess. This one costs £149.99 (refurbished). I bought it myself. It has a separate graphics card (GPU) as well. (But one must keep pressing the start button for a while each time, I do not know why). It is silent and takes up only little place. Today, one can buy a new gaming computer at a huge cost, but with a powerful GPU, which isn't needful, and a huge HDD of several terabytes, etc. Take responsibility for the environment instead, and buy yourself a second-hand computer. 4 GB of RAM should be enough for most chess players. The latest Fritz should work on this, I believe.

"FAST HP 6.8Ghz (2x3.4 GHz) DUAL CORE 4GB WINDOWS 7 DESKTOP PC TOWER SFF COMPUTER NEW ATI GFX"
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FAST-HP-6-8Gh ... 5d3c1cabef

M. Winther

Anthony Appleyard
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 9:18 am

Re: Getting Fritz

Post by Anthony Appleyard » Sat Apr 12, 2014 10:31 pm

I have found my Fritz 13 again while tidying the room.

Andrew Camp
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 11:18 am
Location: Colwyn Bay

Re: Getting Fritz

Post by Andrew Camp » Sun Apr 13, 2014 11:36 am

Phew!!!
Chairman of North Wales Junior Chess Association
northwaleschess@aol.com

Post Reply